Traveling the World, My Dream, My Passion


If you are my friends, if you are my colleagues, if you have read my books, or if you happen to come across my Facebook page or bump into me in a souvenir shop in Tenerife or Gran Canaria, you’d know that I have an itchy feet and enjoy visiting exotic and fabulous new places. It has always been my dream to see the world – I don’t know when that dream began but I know that it will never end.

When I was growing up, I could not venture very far, due the many practical constraints I faced. Then I got a lucky break. My life in the past three decades has taken me far and wide. Based in the UK, at the corner of Europe, my grand dream of seeing the world is no longer a young girl’s wishful thinking, it has become reality!

Naturally, I have left footprints in every part of Great Britain. There won’t be a tourist place I have not visited on this island, be it Scotland, Northern Ireland, Wales or England, from the top of Scottish highlands, to the English Channel. It’s quite possible that I have beat a great majority of native English people in a travel competition as to the number of places I’ve visited, and I’m very proud of this fact.

My desire to explore has taken me to best parts of Europe. Of the 50 European countries I can count about half of that in my sojourn, although some of these countries I have been to more than once. A country like Italy has so many beautiful cities and areas that one single visit just would not do justice. There was beautiful countryside studded with wonderful gems like Siena and Florence in Tuscany, historical Rome, film-settings like Venice, the Lakes in the north of Italy, not to mention the leaning Tower of Pisa and the sunny island of Sardinia floating in an azure sea between Italy and France.

There were numerous adventures to Greek islands, and top of my list are Santorini, Zante, Kefalonia and many more. Ranking high on my list of top destinations  are also the Spanish Canaries off the Africa coast, and the garden paradise of Madeira in the Atlantic. Then if sandy beaches are too hot to handle, there are very cool places, like the Swiss and Austrian Alps for skiing, or Paris and Prague for immersion in art and culture. The Europeans are spoilt for choice and quite a lot of them don’t even know it or appreciate it.

In Asia, my exploits remain limited, but I have been to many wonderful locations in China, and I love Malaysia and Singapore, for different reasons. There are quite a few countries in my bucket list.

Despite the tedium and testing of long haul, I visited Australia and totally fell in love with it, the climate, the people, the food, the wild life, just to name a few attractions. New Zealand is one of the dreams yet to be realised.

I have to say that USA has some of my favourite places on earth. Yosemite is right there, as well as San Francisco, Oregon, Chicago, Indiana and Seattle. It’s such a massive country and I wish I was young enough to take a ‘gap’ year so I could play Columbus and ‘discover’ America all over again!

Two Continents remain virgin territory to me, which are South America and Africa. So I think there is a need for me to try harder and travel further. My diary is filling up nicely as I write this.

Finally, this is just a short introduction to a series of my travel logs. I would love to share with my readers of all the beautiful places I’ve been to and the happy memories of each and every place. There will be pictures, videos from many of these travels, and I am going to take you with me. Come, fly with me, and enjoy these virtual tours with JunyingKirk Airlines :-).

Thanks for being my travel companion and please leave a comment if you have enjoyed the trip. If you like, share your travel experience and list your very own top attractions here as well.

About Junying Kirk

Originally from China and currently living and working in the UK, Junying has worked as an academic, administrator, researcher, teacher, professional interpreter, translator and cultural consultant. In her spare time, she enjoys reading and writing, and reflecting upon what's important in life. After six years of blogging at her own website, topics ranging from serious stuff such as art, books, cross-cultural communications, education and politics, as well as more leisure pursuits including cuisine, keeping-fit, music, photography and world travels, she is taking a break from regular blogging to concentrate on her career. From time to time, she may still publish occasional posts here to engage with her readers. Her "Journey To The West" Trilogy - The Same Moon, Trials of Life and Land of Hope, are available on Amazon stores Worldwide, iBook and Smashwords, both in electronic and printed forms. She is currently writing a new book, the first of her "Journey to the East" trilogy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Traveling the World, My Dream, My Passion

  1. alchemyofscrawl says:

    I love traveling! I’ve been to all but three states in the US and have lived in two other countries and visited a third. I have some places picked out that I’d really like to see, just waiting for the opportunity. 🙂

  2. Pingback: yadseuT elat llat sdrawkcab « Ellie Ann

Leave a Reply

