My Favourite Films

A couple of weeks ago I wrote a blog on The Changing Face and Place of Films, when I promised to share with my readers my best loved films, so here is the moment of truth.

As a long-term film fan of many different genres and from different eras and countries, it is not an easy task to give a full list of those truly wonderful and unforgettable films I have watched in my life, but I shall make an attempt to give you a flavor of the kind of films that have made a lasting impact in my memory.

For starters, these are the top five films I’ve named on my Facebook: Escape to Victory, Spartacus, The Sound of Music, Life Is Beautiful and American Beauty. I watched the first three films while still in China many years ago, and I remember them so clearly.

Escape to Victory was set in the Second World War. It was not so much the amazing football, including the legendary Pele, it was the spirit and the message from the film that moved me and make it memorable. It also had a wonderful cast. I loved Spartacus for the same reason. I love strong heros who, no matter what their origin, stand up and fight for freedom. Similar films that appeal to me include Braveheart, Schindler’s list, Saving Private Ryan, The Pianist,The Great Escape and Life is Beautiful.

Apart from good war films, I am a huge fan of action blockbusters, such as The Lord of the Rings, The Matrix, Mission Impossible, Jason Bourne, Terminators and X-men. I am always up  for a treat. There are few things better than going to cinema with a friend on a night out, or simply sitting on my sofa and taking a ride in those amazing James Bond cars.

You would think that I am a war-like action hero-worship movie freak if you’ve read this far, but I do like a lot of other films, which are lighted-hearted and great fun. Not only good musicals like The Sound Of Music, The Wizard of Oz and Chicago are wonderfully entertaining, I also enjoy some well-written, well-acted rom-coms. Off the top of my head, these include The 40 Year Old Virgin, some Charlie Chaplin comedies, and more recently Meet The Fockers.

Having said that, if given a mindless silly fun or a more gritty realistic take on life, I’ll probably go for the latter. I don’t care too much for horror or supernatural, but a violent and bloody dose of reality does not put me off.

Some of my favorite films were adapted from my favorite books. For example, Jane Eyre and its many versions over the years. Wuthering Heights is another, and Atonement, Stieg Larsson’s Millennium Trilogy, and many more.

I have not listed any Chinese films here, or low-budget British or foreign languages films, but I’d love to know what films you love and why. Thank you for stopping by my blog.

About Junying Kirk

Originally from China and currently living and working in the UK, Junying has worked as an academic, administrator, researcher, teacher, professional interpreter, translator and cultural consultant. In her spare time, she enjoys reading and writing, and reflecting upon what's important in life. After six years of blogging at her own website, topics ranging from serious stuff such as art, books, cross-cultural communications, education and politics, as well as more leisure pursuits including cuisine, keeping-fit, music, photography and world travels, she is taking a break from regular blogging to concentrate on her career. From time to time, she may still publish occasional posts here to engage with her readers. Her "Journey To The West" Trilogy - The Same Moon, Trials of Life and Land of Hope, are available on Amazon stores Worldwide, iBook and Smashwords, both in electronic and printed forms. She is currently writing a new book, the first of her "Journey to the East" trilogy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Favourite Films

  1. pete wilkinson says:

    I have been big fan of movies for as long as I can remember and many of my childhood memories are connected to certain films. Sunday afternoons belonged to the horror club which involved renting the video with the most disturbing cover from the local video shop and watching it at a parent free house.
    I have a favourite decade of cinema which is the 70’s, when great directors made great films, Scorsece, Lumet, Coppola, Allen, Altman, Lucas, Speilberg and the great Hal Ashby contributed groundbreaking films to this decade.
    I have a recurring dream of a modern day hollywood remake of Harold & Maude with Julia Roberts playing Maude !
    My favourite films of all time is a hard list to put together but it would include The Godfather, Mcabe & Mrs Miller, Goodfellas, This is Spinal Tap and Harold & Maude (not the Julia Roberts version).

    • junyingkirk says:

      Thank you so much for stopping by and your comments, Pete. I love those directors you listed and some of their works are just amazing. I love The Godfather, as well as Goodfellas and This is Sinal Tap. I must try and get the other two you listed above, the originals, of course :-). Hope you enjoy many more great films ! Junying :-).

  2. Marni Mann says:

    You’ve listed so many of my favorites: American Beauty, Braveheart, Schindler’s list, Saving Private Ryan, The Pianist, and Jason Bourne. Those are the movies I can watch over and over, and each time I see something different – something I hadn’t noticed before.

    A few other favorites are: Shawshank Redemption, Good Will Hunting, The Green Mile, and A Beautiful Mind.

    It’s not just the writing that I appreciate, even though it’s superb, but it’s the acting too. An actor can take a wonderful script and either make it shine or have it fall flat. American Beauty is a perfect example of that. Kevin Spacey could have ‘played up’ his character or added too much ‘life’ to the role, and the movie wouldn’t have been the same. He nailed the part as did Matt Damon (in the Bourne series) and Adrien Brody (in The Pianist).

    Have you seen the Black Swan? Now that’s a dark one. Real dark. And I loved it! 🙂

  3. junyingkirk says:

    Marni,

    Thanks you so much for sharing! All those you listed are my favourites too, and I just ran out of space to list them all :-).

    I also agree with you what acting does to bring life to characters and stories. Kevin Spacey is top of my fav actors as well – he’s visited my dreams too :-). We went to see him a couple of times on stage at Old Vic and he’s just phenomenal!

    Yes, Shawshank Redemption – How did I miss that? Such an uplifting movie and unforgettable!

    I watched Black Swan recently, on the way back from China on the plane – it made me cry and I certainly loved it!

    It seems that we not only have similar tastes in books, we share love for music and films too.

    Thanks again and take care!

Leave a Reply

